The Snackdown

One of the most common questions I get is what are some good snack choices. This list could go on and on but here are a few of my favorite picks. And remember, I spend more time in my car than in my home so I am the queen of eating on the go.

The key is portion control. Remember it is a snack. If you are hungry enough to eat a meal, then you need a meal not a snack. If you are starving when you get home before you make dinner, I suggest eating a piece of fruit to hold you over. I don’t recommend chips or pretzels unless you count them out. It is too easy to over eat these items.  (contact me for a longer list of snack ideas).

Kashi Granola Bars: made with whole grains, nuts and all natural ingredients. At 130 -140 calories, 5g protein and 4g fiber, this is a great snack.

Greek Yogurt: make sure it is 0% fat. Now I normally poo poo fat free things but in the case of greek yogurt, it is still all natural, just less sugar. Add your own fruit to keep the sugar and fat down.

Oatmeal: there are plenty of single serving instant oatmeals out there that are perfect for a snack at the office. Just check the sugar content to be sure it is low. You can order Mc Donald’s oatmeal without the brown sugar which lowers the calories and makes it a great option.

Laughing Cow Light Cheese Wedge: 35 calories a wedge so you can either have a few or pair it with a pack of crackers (special k has 90 calorie packs)

Bowl of cereal: Make sure you only eat 1 SERVING. Add a little skim milk, soy  milk, almond milk, etc. *This is a great night time snack if you find yourself hungry before bed.*

Popcorn: not the buttery movie theater kind. Try to get light microwave popcorn and add spices to make it tasty. I suggest garlic, chili powder, italian spices, a little parm cheese, etc.

Fruit or veggies of course are always a great choice. I love mixing a 1/2 cup 2%cottage cheese with some peaches. mmmm.

Hummus or peanut butter and veggies. Make sure you watch your serving sizes! Always measure it out instead of dipping right into the container.

Fruit Smoothies. Be careful. I never order these out because they are often much higher in calories than you think. I suggest using 1/2 of greek yogurt, a little milk (i use almond but you can use skim or soy) and some fruit. I love to squeeze a little bit of an orange (like 1 quarter of an orange) into my smoothie with a 1/2 cup of berries. Bananas are great as well. I top it with cabot whip cream which does not contain corn syrup.

Healthier choices for Fast Food Snacks:

1 small McDonald’s fruit and yogurt parfait (hold the granola) – 130 calories

Taco Bell Fresco Crunchy Taco: 150 calories

Dunkin Donuts Egg White and Cheese Wake-Up Wrap: 150 calories

Gas station: Grab a 100 calories cracker pack and a string cheese.

~Most restaurants have their nutrition posted on their websites.

~There are many apps out there now that allow you to check out nutrition facts wherever you may be. In an earlier post I gave some examples. Search through your apps to see what is available to you.

~You can also get a comparison of different fast food options at different restaurants: http://www.acaloriecounter.com/fast-food.php

Be Well.

About janabnana

MS in Exercise Science. Personal Trainer, Fitness Instructor.
This entry was posted in Health, fitness and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Snackdown

  1. saidandsung says:

    Thanks for this list of healthy snacks, Jana!

    I’m so glad you pointed out your disdain for fat-free items, because as I was reading along, I thought to myself, “But aren’t fat-free items bad for you in other ways?” I stay away from fat-free foods because most of them contain aspartame, which is a migraine trigger for me, not to mention the other health issues that ingredient has been associated with — I just consider it evil all around! Might be good to post some info on the other types of safe/natural sugar substitutes.

    This post gave me some new snack ideas — thanks again!

    Carla

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Snackdown | janaheathfitness -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

