Do the Work

Ok, I have to admit, I am trying very hard to stay calm. I am get upset easily when I see people going to extremes to get a quick fix.

Please understand that I work with lots of people of all ages and sizes and I see their struggles first hand. I am very sensitive to my client’s heartaches and frustration. It crushes me when someone is not happy in their own skin and feels as if nothing is working.

But what makes my blood boil is the unwillingness to do the work. I happened to catch a few minutes of Dr. Oz and they were discussing Lap Band Surgery. I know people who have had this done and my own mother has done the gastric bypass surgery so I am very familiar with these weight loss solutions. I am in no way trying to make anyone feel badly about what they feel is best for themselves. But I would not be doing my job if I didn’t share my thoughts on this.

The 2 women on the show who had lap band surgery displayed the amount of food they used to eat Рit was a lot of crap Рand then displayed the amount of food they currently eat: 5 tsp of yogurt, 4 noodles, 3 bites of chicken, 5 tsp of pudding, and some broth for the entire day and if they eat too much they vomit.

A gal in the audience considering the surgery commented that the before display food is what she eats in a day and so she thinks the lap band surgery would be good for her so she can eat less and lose weight.

I’m sorry, wouldn’t the answer be, maybe I should eat less and get active? I am the first person to say that weight loss isn’t easy and it isn’t always fun. But are you telling me that you would rather endure surgery and never ever be able to eat like a normal person than just do the work of reducing your portions and getting your butt off the couch?

Willpower is not easy. I know my mother did gastric bypass because she felt the 100 lbs she had to lose was too overwhelming and she would never have the willpower to not eat bad food. Guess what. She still doesn’t. These surgeries are not the quick fix you think they are. I don’t want to offend anyone but if you aren’t willing to do the work, why are you complaining? If you cannot find the willpower to improve your health, I suggest finding someone who will help you and hold you accountable until you can do it yourself.

Give yourself some credit. You can do it.

Be Well.

About janabnana

MS in Exercise Science. Personal Trainer, Fitness Instructor.
This entry was posted in Health, fitness and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

