Fidgeting: Annoying habit or exercise?

After 35 years of marriage the answer to this question could give my father the freedom to annoy my mother with actual justification. 

My father, Terry, has a habit of tapping his heel on the floor (sort of shaking his leg) whenever he is sitting. This is a big problem when he does it at the table and my mother, Fern, is sitting at the same table. To be fair, my mom suffers from extreme motion sickness and she claims this shaking makes her ill. My father passed this habit onto me but luckily my husband is not as sensitive. My entire life I’ve heard “Terry, quit shaking!” and part of me has always felt badly because I understand that it is a subconscious habit since I also do it.

I was reading an article in the Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise, the journal of the American College of Sports Medicine, where research has shown that incidental exercise like fidgeting offers significant fitness benefits. This also includes taking a few more trips up and down the stairs, walking to the copier, parking a little further away than necessary, etc. If you take just a little effort into getting off your bum throughout the day, it will help you increase your cardiovascular health. It just goes to show you that every little bit helps.

Dad, shake and be fit! (sorry mom)my dad

Be Well.

About janabnana

MS in Exercise Science. Personal Trainer, Fitness Instructor.
This entry was posted in Health, fitness and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fidgeting: Annoying habit or exercise?

  1. Carla Fisher says:

    Hehe;p Love it!

    Finally, after all these years, you are able to scientifically vindicate your father:)

    Carla

Leave a Reply

